The inaugural National IET Faraday Challenge 2019 will take place in six states/Federal Territories this year, with the theme “Smart Buildings”. This competition is open to all secondary school students aged 15-17 years, and aims to give students stronger exposure to the development of IoT applications. In this competition, students will compete to build a smart building application using Maker Uno sets (similar to Arduino) as well as the provided sensors.

The competition will take place on the following dates / venues:

  • Sarawak (Swinburne University of Technology) – 22 June 2019
  • Penang (Universiti Sains Malaysia) – 29 June 2019
  • Johor (University of Southampton) – 7 July 2019
  • Putrajaya (Heriot-Watt University) – 13 July 2019
  • Selangor (UiTM Shah Alam) – 27 July 2019
  • Kuala Lumpur (Honeywell HQ) – 3 August 2019
  • National finals (TBC) – 17 August 2019

For more information, please contact us!

Terms and Conditions:

  1. Schools are encouraged to send a team of five (5) participants for this competition. No prior training will be given save for a guidebook that students are encouraged to go through by themselves.
  2. There is no entry fee or payment required for this competition. All materials, and F&B shall be provided to the participating teams. However, transportation to the competition venues is to be borne by the schools. Each team should also bring along a laptop or tablet, and an Android smartphone; however if there is difficulty in procuring this equipment the schools may let the organisers know beforehand in order that an alternative can be provided.
  3. Judges shall select the top 3 teams from each state as champions, first and second runners up. Judges decision is final. The top teams from each state / FT shall advance to the national finals.
  4. A subsidy shall be provided to each team that successfully makes it to the national finals.
  5. The winner of the national finals shall represent Malaysia in the regional competition in Brunei to be held in October 2019. The logistics for the winning team shall be borne by the organisers of the regional competition.